Following the Ret Marut Handshake EP, Alva Noto and Blixa Bargeld have announced plans for their debut album as ANBB, Mimikry.

Mimikry will be released on October 4 by Raster-Noton, the German label of which Alva Noto – real name Carsten Nicolai – is a co-founder. It will be available in two physical formats: CD + booklet and 2×12″ + poster. The 16-page booklet presents original text and drawings by Bargeld.

Having been friends and admirers of each other’s work for many years, Bargeld (Einstürzende Neubauten lynchpin and sometime member of Nick Cave’s Bad Seeds) and Nicolai first decided to collaborate back in 2007. Developing a unique sound out of Bargeld’s vocal improvisations and Nicolai’s complex beat structures, the duo have since performed a number of live shows, and in June of this year they issued their first recording as ANBB, Ret Marut Handshake.

The new album includes two selections from the EP together with two reworked versions and six previously unheard pieces. Interestingly, the tracks ‘Katze’ and ‘Mimikry’ feature words and vocals by Veruschka von Lehndorff, the model best known for appearing in Michelangelo Antonioni’s iconic 1966 movie Blowup. A detail from the cover art is pictured above.

1. Fall
2. Once Again
3. One
4. Ret Marut Handshake
5. Bersteinzimmer (long version)
6. I Wish I Was A Mole In The Ground – Extended
7. Mimikry
8. Berghain
9. Wust
10. Katze



Share Tweet