Photek has announced details of his first album in five years.

Entitled Ku:Palm, it will be released through his own Photek Productions label on October 23.

“I made a conscious decision not to jump straight in with another album,” says Photek, real name Rupert Parkes, quoted in a press release for the LP. “I wanted to come back with the EPs and get the release flow going again. I knew that if I did that, and approached with an open mind, the music and the album would take its course. As it did start to take shape it felt like it was sitting halfway between Modus Operandi and Solaris – which I felt was a good place to be. Now it’s finished, it might well be my favourite album to date.”

The EPs he is referring to are the well-received Avalanche and Aviator; Modus Operandi and Solaris are of course the two landmark albums he released in 1998 and 2000 respectively.

“I just really like how diverse clubland is in 2012,” Parkes adds. “It seems like everyone from the old school to the newbies are open to anything – and that is a place that I feel very comfortable. I had to take some time out for a few years as I just didn’t feel like my music fitted in, I was like a square peg in a round hole – and then the last few years completely changed, there’s a real freedom and excitement in bass music once again. People like Maxxi Soundsystem, Bok Bok and Grenier – their approach to making music is exactly where I’m at.

“This album had to be the right listening experience for the headphone listeners as much as on a club soundsystem. That was a new experience for me because we had to make judgement calls to take that into account during the mix. Some stereo elements that sound amazing on headphones simply vanish on a mono soundsystem but I feel we got the right balance in the end.”


1. Signals
2. Quadrant
3. Aviator
4. Pyramid
5. Shape Charge
6. Munich
7. Quevedo
8. Mistral
9. Oshun
10. Sleepwalking feat. Linche
11. One Of A Kind
12. This Love (feat. Ray La Montagne)



Share Tweet