Matthew Herbert's work to be collected in <i>Herbert Complete</i> box-set; <i>Bodily Functions</i> reissue due next month

Accidental Records have revealed full details of their reissue of Matthew Herbert’s Bodily Functions.

As previously reported, the revisit of Herbert’s 2001 classic comes as part of a larger series of reissues by Accidental that also includes Herbert’s debut album 100 Lbs and 1998’s Around the House. As is often the case with Herbert, Bodily Functions is notable for its conceptual use of sampling, with the human body used as a frequent source. More suited to headphones than the club, its jazzy sound also preludes Herbert’s later work with the Matthew Herbert Big Band.

Bodily Functions will be re-released as a double-CD on December 17, with the second disc comprising remixes from Jamie Lidell, Mr. Oizo, DJ Koze, Dave Aju and more. On March 4, Herbert will release the retrospective box set Herbert Complete, which collects his work from 1996 to 2006, along with unheard material from the archives.

You can hear Aju’s contribution here [via Pitchfork]:

Bodily Functions CD 1:

01. You’re Unknown to Me
02. It’s Only
03. Foreign Bodies
04. Suddenly
05. I Know
06. Leave Me Now
07. The Last Beat
08. You Saw It All
09. On Reflection
10. About This Time Each Day
11. Addiction
12. I Miss You
13. It’s Only a Reprise
14. The Audience

CD 2:
01. Back to the Start (Mr. Oizo ‘Non’ Mix)
02. You Saw It All (DJ Koze Mix)
03. The Audience Vs Jamie Lidell and the Famous Szizlas
04. Foreign Bodies (Plaid Mix)
05. Leave Me Now (Recloose Mix)
06. Foreign Bodies (Dave Aju Mix)
07. Back to the Start (Herbert)
08. Suddenly (Phil Parnell’s Pianissimo Play Through)
09. Addiction (Nobukazu Takemura Mix)
10. Leave Me Now (Richard Devine Mix)
11. The Audience (Matmos Shifted My Tongue)
12. Addiction (Perry Farrell Version)
13. It’s Only (DJ Koze Mix)




Share Tweet