Dave Sitek's Federal Prism label announces 2013 release schedule: Kelis, Scarlett Johansson, Freddie Gibbs feature

Gun-for-hire/man-about-town Dave Sitek has launched a new label, Federal Prism. 

The TV On The Radio figurehead’s label launched in relatively unspectacular fashion last year, issuing a Trent Reznor remix of a well-worn Telepathe track and not much else. As Pitchfork report, however, there’s been a lot going on behind the scenes. Sitek has announced Federal Prism’s release schedule for 2013, and it’s quite the olio.

Kelis, last heard on 2010’s Flesh Tone, will issue not one but two albums on the label in the coming year. Hollywood’s very own Scarlett Johannson will follow-up her Sitek-produced 2008 covers collection Anywhere I Lay My Head with a new single. Thug-rap aficionado and Madlib collaborator Freddie Gibbs also has a single in the works, as do TV On The Radio, who will release their first new output since 2011’s Nine Types Of Light LP.

The list goes on, and only gets stranger. Sitek will revive his Maximum Balloon solo project for a sophomore LP, apparently featuring a guest spot from Miguel. Psych combo (and Flaming Lips associates) Stardeath and White Dwarves have an album on the way, as do arty electro duo TEARIST, woozy London shoe gazer Genuflex, Baltimore veteran Daniel Higgs and gloomy indie rappers BLKHRTS. Further releases are promised from Holly Miranda, Oh Land, Priscilla Ahn, Cerebral Ballzy and CSS.

Sitek has been busy overseeing the sessions for the Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ forthcoming Mosquito LP. Somewhat disconcertingly, he’s also producing Oasis spin-off Beady Eye.



Share Tweet