Weekly Playlist

L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'

via soundcloud.com

Now Playing


  • L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz
  • 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'
  • Blawan
  • 'North'
  • Viva La Void
  • 'Red Rider'
  • Oli XL
  • 'Stress Junkie'
  • E-40
  • 'Boy' (feat. P-Lo)
  • Honnda
  • ‘Maraschino Zap’
  • Carlos Giffoni
  • ‘Vain’s Face’
  • Kawaguchi Masami's New Rock Syndicate
  • 'From Now On'
  • Antemeridian
  • 'Tuesday AM'
  • Aïsha Devi
  • 'Dislocation of the Alpha'
  • Ras G & The Afrikan Space Program
  • 'The Arrival'
  • Jay Prince
  • 'In The Morning'
  • MJ Cole x Kojey Radical
  • 'Soak It Up'
  • Knightstown
  • 'Keep'
  • Will DiMaggio
  • ‘UH UH OH’

Photo by: Timothy Saccenti

Jazz influences have always been present in Steven ‘Flying Lotus’ Ellison’s work – see the July Heat tape, or 1983‘s jazzy boom-bap – but they’ve sprung to the fore on more recent releases.

Cosmogramma was a wild, adventurous collision of classic fusion and modern beat music, and Until The Quiet Comes showed a continued fascination with late 1970s/early 1980s crossover jazz. Having previously recorded with saxophonist (and cousin) Ravi Coltrane and the late Austin Peralta, it looks like Ellison may be collaborating with a true jazz legend – pianist, composer and fusion pioneer Herbie Hancock.

Ellison has uploaded a short video onto Twitter which shows him, regular partner-in-crime Thundercat and Herbie Hancock messing around together in Hancock’s studio. There’s not much to go on beyond that – the clip is mostly confined to shots of FlyLo and Thundercat looking hyped just to be there – but, if this eventually results in some collaborative tunes, we should be in for something pretty special.

Flying Lotus and Thundercat will tour the US next month; head here for dates.



Share Tweet