The elders of Welsh rock return with a glimpse of their forthcoming album, the first since 2010’s Postcards From A Young Man.

‘Rewind The Film’ is the title track from the Manic Street Preachers’ eleventh studio album, due for release on 16 September. On it, singer James Dean Bradfield takes a back seat to Sheffield songwriter and former Pulp player Richard Hawley, whose sage tones dominate the acoustic-led track.

According to Clash, the band introduced Rewind The Film by stating: “[If] this record has a relation in the Manics back catalogue, it’s probably the sedate coming of age that was This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours.” An official lead single, ‘Show Me The Wonder’, will come out a week on 9 September.

The arena-fillers have also announced a UK tour, taking in some more intimate venues than usual. Dates are as follows:

13 September – Newport, Centre
20 September – Dublin, Olympia
23 September – Bristol, Colston Hall
24 September – London, Shepherd’s Bush Empire
27 September – Manchester, Ritz
29 September – Glasgow, Barrowland

Here’s the tracklist:

01 This Sullen Welsh Heart
02 Show Me The Wonder
03 Rewind The Film
04 Builder of Routines
05 4 Lonely Roads
06 (I Miss The) Tokyo Skyline
07 Anthem For A Lost Cause
08 As Holy As The Soil (That Buries Your Skin)
09 3 Ways To See Despair
10 Running Out Of Fantasy
11 Manorbier
12 30 Year War

Latest Stories


Share Tweet