The alt-rap supergroup explains Event II.

First announced last month, Event II is the first effort from the group (comprised of Del the Funky Homosapien, Dan the Automator, and Kid Koala) since 2000.

The trio will be joined on their fantastic voyage by diverse collaborators from the music world (Damon Albarn, Mike Patton, Zach De La Rocha, Jamie Cullum), the acting one (Joseph Gordon-Levitt, David Cross, Amber Tamblyn), and celebrity chef David Chang. Del explained the album’s concept in a statement:

“This time, the album has a specific story. The Deltron world has gone too far with technology. Everything’s destroyed, and you just see the remnants of our technology. The streets are run by criminals, the police are outnumbered and outgunned, and we’re like pirates, running rogue, doing what we do to survive. That’s the scene of it. We’re trying to be as literary as possible while dealing with a musical format. I don’t know if you could even categorize this as a hip hop album – it’s more like a rock opera, but using rap.”

Watch the Star Wars-nodding video for album trailer / lead track ‘Stardate’ (featuring Gordon-Levitt) below. Event II is due out on October 1 via Bulk Recordings and will be preceded by the three-track City Rising from the Ashes EP on August 13. [via Pitchfork]

01 Stardate [ft. Joseph Gordon-Levitt]
02 The Return
03 Pay the Price
04 Nobody Can [ft. Aaron Bruno of AWOLNATION]
05 Lawnchair Quarterback Pt. 1 [ft. David Cross and Amber Tamblyn]
06 Melding of the Minds [ft. Zach De La Rocha]
07 The Agony [ft. Mary Elizabeth Winstead]
08 Back in the Day [ft. The Lonely Island]
09 Talent Supersedes [ft. Black Rob]
10 Look Across the Sky [ft. Mary Elizabeth Winstead]
11 The Future of Food [ft. David Chang]
12 My Only Love [ft. Emily Wells]
13 What Is This Loneliness [ft. Damon Albarn and Casual]
14 Lawnchair Quarterback Pt. 2 [ft. David Cross and Amber Tamblyn]
15 City Rising From the Ashes [background vocals by Mike Patton]
16 Do You Remember [ft. Jamie Cullum]



Share Tweet