From Spirited Away to Laputa, Island in the Sky, Japanese production company Studio Ghibli are a powerhouse when it comes to piecing together unforgettable animated movies.

Their particular style is unmistakable and hugely influential, and the accompanying scores have often been just as important as the visuals.

It’s hardly surprising then to hear then that Texas-based boutique poster company Mondo have rustled together a very special compilation of some of their best known themes, and in typical Mondo style it’s going to look the part too. The company has built up a pretty solid sideline in vinyl re-issues lately, handling the release of the Drive OST, Oblivion, Poltergeist and plenty more, but this new collection looks to be their most ambitious to date. For starters it’s going to have three separate sleeves designed by illustrator Tyler Stout, each one based around a different one of director Hayao Miyazake’s most loved movies – Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke and Howl’s Moving Castle.

Interestingly, the Howl’s Moving Castle artwork will be the only release to use full Japanese text, and will also include the traditional Obi strip, just to look the part that little bit more. Each variant cover will also contain a different coloured vinyl, so collectors out there will no doubt want to make sure they bag one of each.

Entitled Studio Ghibli Kokyo Kyokusho, the album compiles music (performed by the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra) from five of Miyazake’s films – Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle, The Cat Returns and My Neighbors the Yamadas.


01 Chapter One – The Legend of Ashitaka
02 Chapter Four – Princess Mononoke
03 Chapter Eight – Ashitaka And San
04 The Theme of My Neighbors The Yamadas – Orchestral Version
05 Takashi And Matsuko’s Tango – Sinfonico
06 Always With Me – Orchestral Version
07 A Mysterious World
08 The Moving Castle
09 War War War
10 Cave Of The Mind
11 The Baron
12 Pastorale
13 Haru’s Memories

Tracks 1-3 From Symphonic Suite Princess Mononoke
Tracks 4-5 From My Neighbors The Yamadas – Classical Album
Track 6 From the film Spirited Away
Tracks 7-10 From Howl’s Moving Castle – Image Symphonic Suite
Tracks 11-13 From The Cat Returns – Original Soundtrack Album

Studio Ghibli Kokyo Kyokusho will be released on July 26 via Mondo. [via The Vinyl Factory]



Share Tweet