Weekly Playlist

L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'

via soundcloud.com

Now Playing


  • L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz
  • 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'
  • Blawan
  • 'North'
  • Viva La Void
  • 'Red Rider'
  • Oli XL
  • 'Stress Junkie'
  • E-40
  • 'Boy' (feat. P-Lo)
  • Honnda
  • ‘Maraschino Zap’
  • Carlos Giffoni
  • ‘Vain’s Face’
  • Kawaguchi Masami's New Rock Syndicate
  • 'From Now On'
  • Antemeridian
  • 'Tuesday AM'
  • Aïsha Devi
  • 'Dislocation of the Alpha'
  • Ras G & The Afrikan Space Program
  • 'The Arrival'
  • Jay Prince
  • 'In The Morning'
  • MJ Cole x Kojey Radical
  • 'Soak It Up'
  • Knightstown
  • 'Keep'
  • Will DiMaggio
  • ‘UH UH OH’

“If a record takes more than a week to make, someone’s fucking up.”

in 2013, Steve Albini‘s reputation precedes him. He’s been responsible for engineering some of the finest rock records of the last couple of decades, and his stripped down ‘live’ sound has influenced countless would-be engineers. That’s probably what makes reading this proposa – which was sent to Nirvana by Albini – so absolutely gripping.

We all know what Albini is capable of at this point, so hearing him dryly explain his philosophy (“I’m only interested in working on records that legitimately reflect the band’s own perception of their music and existance.”) and methods (“I like to leave room for accidents and chance.”) is not only revealing but occasionally laugh-out-loud funny (“I’ll rap your head with a ratchet…”).

The entire letter is bundled with In Utero‘s 20th anniversary reissue, which is out now. [via Stereogum]



Share Tweet