The Blur frontman’s long-running musical exchange bears fruit.

Damon Albarn’s Africa Express project continued this October with a trip to Mali accompanied by a diverse selection of musicians including Brian Eno, Nick Zinner of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Ghostpoet, Holy Other, Cid Rim, Two Inch Punch, Django Django’s David Maclean and Lil Silva.

The result of their week-long collaboration with Malian musicians is Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes, an album out digitally on December 9 via Transgressive, with a physical edition to follow in 2014.

An album launch is scheduled to take place on December 9 at London’s Oval Space, featuring the debut UK performances by Songhoy Blues and Kankou Kouyaté, plus Ghostpoet, Metronomy’s Olugbenga Adelekan and Django Django’s David Maclean. The event will also see the UK premiere of the documentary on the 2012 Africa Express train tour.

See the tracklist underneath for full details of the collaborations and watch the video for ‘Soubour’ by Malian band Songhoy Blues in collaboration with Zinner. [via Pitchfork]



01 Adama Koita “Fantainfalla Toyi Bolo” (Produced by Two Inch Punch)
02 Songhoy Blues “Soubour” (Produced by Nick Zinner & Remi Kabaka)
03 Ghostpoet feat. Doucoura “Season Change” (Produced by Two Inch Punch & Damon Albarn)
04 Bijou “Dougoudé Sarrafo” (Produced by Damon Albarn)
05 Lil Silva “Bouramsy” (Produced by Lil Silva)
06 Talbi “Rapou Kanou” (Produced by Two Inch Punch)
07 Gambari ft. Kankou Kouyaté “Yamore” (Produced by Damon Albarn)
08 Yacouba Sissoko Band “Chanson Denko Tapestry” (Produced by Brian Eno)
09 Lobi Traoré Band “Deni Kelen Be Koko” (Produced by David Maclean)
10 Moussa Traoré “Farafina” (Produced by Damon Albarn)
11 Tiemoko Sogodogo “Latégué” (Produced by Brian Eno)



Share Tweet