Warp veterans Plaid are back with their first proper album since 2011’s Scintilli.

Andy Turner and Ed Handley’s unique collision of choppy electronics and chirpy melodies has been delighting listeners since 1988, and they’ve achieved a surprisingly coherent flow of material since then. Reachy Prints is the duo’s latest statement, and while there isn’t exactly a bounty of information floating around about the record, from the sound of the first leaked track ‘Hawkmoth’ we’re in for something very special.

‘Hawkmoth’ sounds like classic Plaid – bouncy and warm yet somehow melancholy – and it certainly signals that the duo are readily acknowledging beloved early albums Not For Threes and Restproof Clockwork with their new material.

Take a listen to ‘Hawkmoth’ below, and you can pre-order the album (which is set to drop April 18 (digital) and May 19 (physical) on Warp Records) here.


01 OH
02 Hawkmoth
03 Nafovanny
04 Slam
05 Wallet
06 Matin Lunaire
07 Tether
08 Ropen
09 Liverpool St



Share Tweet