The WEDIDIT veteran goes high concept for his third album.

For the follow-up to 2012’s eclectic Feel Me, Jasper “Groundislava” Patterson has distilled a range of his influences — notably ’80s sci-fi nostalgia and a range of electronic styles — into a concept album.

Frozen Throne follows a narrative about “the search for real love in a future cyber-based reality.” On six of the album’s ten tracks, Patterson’s maximalist dance tracks feature pop duo Rare Times (Los Angelenos Anthony Calonico and Alex Talan), who voice the cyberpunk tale with suitably throwback R&B vocals.

The album is due out on September 23 via Wedidit and Friends of Friends. For a taste, stream ‘Girl Behind The Glass’ and watch the video for ‘Feel the Heat’ below; the tracklist follows.

1. Girl Behind The Glass ft. Rare Times
2. Terminate Uplink
3. Frozen Throne ft. Rare Times
4. Under The Glow ft. Rare Times
5. The Descent
6. Feel The Heat ft. Rare Times
7. October Acid
8. A Way Out
9. October Pt. 2 ft. Rare Times
10. Steel Sky ft. Rare Times



Share Tweet