It’s been a long wait, but Objekt – one of the most striking techno producers to emerge in the last-half decade – has finally announced his debut album.

For somebody who’s been attracting extremely favourable critical notice sine 2011, Objekt – aka Berlin-based Brit TJ Hertz – hasn’t exactly put out oodles of music, limiting his recorded footprint to a couple of slimline singles a year. Such has been the case in 2014, which has brought us new track ‘Balloons’ (on a split release on Power Vacuum), a split release with Dopplereffekt for Hypnagogia, and precious little else.

November will see the producer practically double his output in one fell swoop with the release of his debut album. Flatland will arrive on avant-electronic stable PAN, and promises 11 tracks of meticulous techno, assembled with the sort of care and precision you might expect from a Native Instruments programmer.

Pulled together between 2012 and 2014, the album presumably takes its inspiration from the 1884 Edwin Abbott Abbott novel of the same name, and promises “a world in which any scene can be seen from every angle at once” – a neat description of the sharp angles and high-def precision of Hertz’s best work.

Flatland is due on October 20 on 2xLP, CD and digital. As per PAN’s usual modus operandi, label boss Bill Kouligas and Kathryn Politis provide the artwork; take a peek below.

Screen Shot 2014-09-02 at 09.24.15

1. Agnes Revenge 01:54
2. One Fell Swoop 04:43
3. Ratchet 05:02
4. Strays 05:14
5. Agnes Apparatus 03:22
6. Dogma 04:36
7. First Witness 04:15
8. Interlude (Whodunnit?) 02:12
9. Second Witness 03:45
10. One Stitch Follows Another 04:26
11. Cataracts 05:14



Share Tweet