Indiana-based footwork producer conjures up dark energies with no samples on her debut.

Planet Mu is releasing the debut album from female footwork producer Jlin this March, calling the 11-track debut a showcase of “her unique and bold new sound.”

Jlin, from Gary, Indiana, about 20 minutes south of Chicago, first emerged via Mu’s Bangs & Works compilation. Her contribution to the second volume in the series, ‘Erotic Heat’, was one of its most arresting tracks and provides a clue to the esthetic of her album: dark, brutal and full of energy. In 2014 her music was featured in fashion designer Rick Owens’ FW/14 Paris runway show.

Dark Energy features 11 tracks, including ‘Erotic Heat’, with a feature from Holly Herndon on ‘Expand’, which you can hear below. All the music on the album was made without samples, an unusual move in the footwork world.

According to Jlin, “the themes behind my tracks are all based off what my creativity absorbs, whether it be bad or good. This album took my entire life to make. Every moment in my life lead up to this album. My musical sense of expression comes from sadness, and anger. I can’t create from a happy place. It seems pointless in my opinion. I don’t make the tracks as much as I feel them. Creating for me is about feeling and impact.”

The album is released on March 26, 2015. You can pre-order it from the Planet Mu store now.

01. Black Ballet
02. Unknown Tongues
03. Guantanamo
04. Erotic Heat
05. Black Diamond
06. Mansa Musa
07. Infrared (Bagua)
08. Ra
09. Expand
10. So High
11. Abnormal Restriction



Share Tweet