Photo by: Frankie Fultz

Detroit rap veterans return with friends and a batch of Jay Dee beats.

Slum Village are set to release their eighth studio album on June 16. Titled Yes! it sees the Detroit rap group streamlined down to rapper T3 and producer Young RJ joined by a string of guests and supported by a collection of beats from their original producer, the late Jay Dee.

Yes! features appearances from long time friends De La Soul and Phife, Detroit’s Black Milk and Frank Nitt as well as Bilal and Jay Dee’s younger brother Illa J.

The album includes 9 Jay Dee productions with the rest handled by Young RJ and Black Milk who have largely looked after the group’s trademark soulful sound since Jay Dee’s departure in the early 2000s.

Speaking to Rolling Stone T3 said that “Yes! sounds like progressive vintage soul, a perfectly blended stew with a dash of the past (Dilla & Baatin), a quarter-cup of the future (Young RJ) and topped off with the secret ingredient (me) and a top-notch supporting cast.”

You can stream the album in full below and catch the group on tour through Europe, the US and Asia in August.

Slum Village 2015 tour dates:
July 4 Ericeira Portugal
July 5 Den Haag, The Netherlands
July 7 Corsica France
July 10 Washington, DC
August 7 Leicester, UK
August 9 Croatia Soundwave festival
August 10 London, UK
August 22 Singapore
August 25 Manila, Philippines
August 28 Seoul, Korea

Latest Stories


Share Tweet