The D&B stalwart looks back on the halcyon days of hardcore.

Last year UK producer Eveson launched his Dead Man’s Chest alias with the Dreamscapes EP, a love letter to vintage jungle and rave hovering in the 150bpm hinterland between the two. He returns next month with the distinctly watery vibes of Nautilus, an EP inspired by his teenage mixtape collection.

“As a kid, my main point of reference and window into the 90s rave/jungle scene (aside from the odd festival dance tent during summers; a perk of growing up in Glastonbury) was my mixtape collection – bought, swapped, duplicated, passed between friends and coveted above all else,” he told FACT.

“The music was steeped in mystery… beyond a faceless DJ name, I had no idea how it was made, who created it or where it was coming from. To me those tapes were simply 60-odd-minute aural collages, erratic and juxtaposed with soaring female vocals riding over ragga chants one moment and piano rushes rolling over bleeps and bass the next, all underpinned by machine gun breaks and smothered under the warm lo-fi hiss of a cassette tape.

“The Dead Man’s Chest alias is all about reimagining the vibe, aesthetic and my own personal connection to that era, writing modern compositions that stand alongside the music of today whilst sounding perfectly at home in the mix with the tunes that inspired their creation.”

Ahead of Nautilus’ digital and vinyl release via Ingredients on August 7, he’s furnished us with a mix drawing connections between rolling, blissed-out breaks past and present, placing a stack of his Dead Man’s Chest tracks among classics by Omni Trio, LTJ Bukem and Dillinja.

Tuck in below and check out the tracklist underneath.


01: Dead Man’s Chest – All About U [Ingredients]
02: Dead Man’s Chest – Revenant [Ingredients]
03: Dead Man’s Chest – Liquid 94 [Ingredients]
04: New Blood – Worries In The Dance [London Some’ting Records]
05: Leviticus – Burial [Philly Blunt]
06: Dead Man’s Chest – Dreamscapes [Ingredients]
07: ArpXP & Nitri – Makes Me Wonder [Metalheadz]
08: Dead Man’s Chest – Tears [Dub]
09: Omni Trio – Thru The Vibe (2 on 1 Mix) [Moving Shadow]
10: LTJ Bukem – Rainfall [Looking Good Records]
11: Amazon II – Booyaaa (Open Your Mind) [Aphrodite Recordings]
12: Digital – Spacefunk [Timeless]
13: Doc Scott – Here Comes The Drumz [Reinforced]
14: Dead Man’s Chest – Cutthroat Hardcore [Ingredients]
15: Tango & Ratty – Final Conflict [Tango & Ratty]
16: Dead Man’s Chest – Foundation Days [Ingredients]
17: Hyper On Experience – Lords Of The Null Lines (Foul Play Remix) [Moving Shadow]
18: Dillinja – The Angels Fell [Metalheadz]
19: J Majik – Your Sound VIP [Metalheadz]
20: Dead Man’s Chest – Nautilus [Ingredients]



Share Tweet