Shan Nicholson’s 2015 documentary has a soundtrack that stands on its own.

A selection of contemporary artists have provided the music for a documentary on the real-life gangs that inspired The Warriors, hip-hop’s favourite cult movie.

Rubble Kings, released last year, uses archival footage to investigate gang violence in The Bronx in the 1970s, in particular the period leading up to and after the Hoe Avenue peace meeting in 1971, which brought about a truce and paved the way for the birth of hip-hop.

Little Shalimar, of Def Jux act Chin Chin, scored the documentary and put together the soundtrack, which features Run The Jewels, Mr Muthafuckin’ eXquire, Tunde Adebimpe and the brilliant yet undersung Ka, plus a guest appearance from Ghostface Killah.

The documentary is now available to watch on Amazon and the soundtrack is out this week.

Check out Run The Jewels’ ‘Rubble Kings Theme (Dynamite)’ and the trailer below, with the album tracklist underneath.


1. War – Little Shalimar
2. Savage Habits – Cuz Lightyear
3. Warrior Thing – eXquire
4. Bouncy 3 – Little Shalimar
5. The Revolution Might Be Televised – Little Shalimar
6. Delaney Card – Ka
7. Edge of the Edge (Instrumental) – Little Shalimar
8. Rubble Kings Theme (Dynamite) – Run The Jewels
9. Partytime (Jitter Buggin) – Little Shalimar
10. Comes with the Territory – Little Shalimar
11. Same Damn Thang – Boldy James
12. The Piano District (Gentrification Boogie) – Little Shalimar
13. Phoenix – Tunde Adebimpe



Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp