The label collect the early work of the influential producer.

As Egyptian Lover, Greg Broussard played an essential role in West Coast hip-hop in the 1980s and now he’ll be honored with a new anthology through Stones Throw Records. Egyptian Lover 1983 to 1988 collects Egyptian Lover’s early work, an essential document bridging dance music, hip-hop and electro in the L.A., alongside unreleased material.

Though it will be released on CD and digital, the definitive version is a boxset which includes four LPs, a 20-page book with archival photos, new liner notes and a “detailed track history” from Broussard himself. It’s out April 15 and can be preordered now via Stones Throw. Below you can find the artwork, tracklist and some incredible footage of Egyptian Lover performing ‘Egypt, Egypt’ in Santa Ana.

Egyptian Lover 1983-1988 box


01 ‘Egyptian Lover Theme’
02 ‘Spray It Super AJ’
03 ‘Dial-A-Freak’
04 ‘Yes, Yes, Yes’
05 ‘Egypt, Egypt’
06 ‘What Is a DJ If He Can’t Scratch’
07 ‘And My Beat Goes Boom’
08 ‘Girls’
09 ‘I Cry (Night After Night)’
10 ‘Ultimate Scratch’
11 ‘My House (On the Nile)’
12 ‘Electric Encounter’
13 ‘Computer Love’
14 ‘Voices’
15 ‘Computer Power’
16 ‘Dance (Dub Mix)’
17 ‘You’re So Fine’
18 ‘Kinky Nation’
19 ‘Freak-A-Holic’
20 ‘The Alezby Inn’
21 ‘Sexy Style’
22 ‘I Need a Freak’



Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp