This Heat’s Charles Bullen and Bardo Pond’s Isobel Sollenberger guest on the album.

Grumbling Fur, the duo of multi-instrumentalists Alexander Tucker and Daniel O’Sullivan (also of Ulver, Mothlite, Aethenor and more), have announced their fourth album.

Furfour, due for release on September 16 via Thrill Jockey, extends their psychedelic universe and filters it through “epic fantasy and sci-fi, Carlos Castenada, shamanic, mind warp, house ghosts and meditation,” notes the label.

The 12 tracks were created by generating sounds and ideas first and then molding structures and ideas around them, they explain: “Songs are about including the process in the finished piece and spontaneous ideas are laid down, and a structure starts to emerge from this source. First thought best thought is our motto.”

The album follows 2014’s Preternaturals and its stunning predecessor Glynnaestra, one of FACT’s favourite records of 2013.

On selected tracks the duo are joined by This Heat’s Charles Bullen (with whom O’Sullivan played as part of the recent This Heat reunion shows) and Isobel Sollenberger from Bardo Pond.

Hear the first single ‘Acid Ali Khan’ below and dig into the Fur philosophy as told to FACT from their magickal base in North London.


01. ‘Strange the Friends’
02. ‘Acid Ali Khan’
03. ‘Heavy Days’
04. ‘Molten Familiar’
05. ‘Milky Light’
06. ‘Pyewacket’s Palace’
07. ‘Perfect Reader’
08. ‘Silent Plans/Black Egg’
09. ‘Golden Simon’
10. ‘Sapien Sapiens’
11. ‘Come Down and Watch Them’
12. ‘Suneaters’



Share Tweet