The analogue fiends have built their own instruments this time.

James Ginzburg and Paul Purgas will take their sound art-meets-techno project Emptyset to US label Thrill Jockey next year.

Due on January 27, 2017, Borders is the experimental duo’s fifth album so far and their first since 2013’s Recur.

“The duo compose within a complex set of self-imposed parameters,” notes the label, “and the results of their expeditions on Borders are at once minimal and visceral.”

RA reports that the album features two instruments the producers built themselves, “a six-stringed zither-like instrument and a drum,” together with their usual “analogue processes.”

Ginzburg and Purgas broke down their complex studio process for FACT’s Josh Hall after the release of Recur.



01. ‘Body’
02. ‘Border’
03. ‘Descent’
04. ‘Across’
05. ‘Speak’
06. ‘Axis’
07. ‘Sight’
08. ‘Retrieve’
09. ‘Ascent’
10. ‘Ground’
11. ‘Dissolve’



Share Tweet