The band go on tour this spring.

Fugazi members Brendan Canty and Joe Lally have announced the self-titled debut album from their new band, The Messthetics.

Drummer Canty and bassist Lally formed The Messthetics alongside guitarist Anthony Pirog in 2016, marking the first time Fugazi’s rhythm section has played together since going on hiatus in 2002.

You can hear the instrumental trio in action on the new single ‘Serpent Tongue’ and see them on their upcoming tour with dates available here.

The Messthetics is out March 23 via Dischord Records. Take a look at the artwork and tracklist below.


01. ‘Mythomania’
02. ‘Serpent Tongue’
03. ‘Once Upon a Time’
04. ‘Quantum Path’
05. ‘Your Own World’
06. ‘The Inner Ocean’
07. ‘Radiation Fog’
08. ‘Crowds and Power’
09. ‘The Weaver’

Latest Stories


Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp