Photo by: Press

‘Street Fighter’ meets ‘Pulse X’ meets gqom.

Ascendent Japanese producer Mars89 will return to Bokeh Versions for his second release on the Bristol label later this month.

End Of The Death is the artist’s first official vinyl 12″ and will be released alongside a T-shirt and super limited VR headset editions on August 31.

Channeling gqom, ballroom, Jersey club, dancehall, grime, UK bassline and sci-fi soundtracks, End Of The Death is a continuation of the producer’s signature murky sound outlined on last year’s Lucid Dream EP, also released on Bokeh.

Mars89 is a key member of “post tribal dance” unit Chopstick KillahzEnd Of The Death follows last year’s Lucid Dream cassette, a run of 30 dubplates for Bokeh and his UK debut in Bristol supporting Coby Sey. More recently, he has started a residency at Bristol’s Noods Radio.

On August 24 artist Patrick Savile and Bokeh versions will host an exhibition in Berlin, BKV Industrial: Origins. The show runs for three weeks, and will include the sale of records, tapes, VR goggles, prints and zines that will only be available at the exhibition.

End Of The Death drops on August 31 at the Bokeh Versions store. Check out the futuristic sleeve, designed by Patrick Savile, as well as the tracklist, below.


01. ‘End Of The Death’
02. ‘Run To Mall’
03. ‘Visitor From The Ocean’
04. ‘Random Coherence’
05. ‘Throbbing Pain’

Read Next: Read our interview with Mars89, accompanied by a short film exploring Shibuya’s dance music history



Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp