Woozy production, cryptic track titles and no artist credits. 

Avant-pop provocateur Dean Blunt has dropped a new compilation, Muggy Vol. 1, on World Music Group, the label founded by Blunt and Inga Copeland in 2012.

In true Bluntian fashion, the nine short tracks feature a prominent use of samples, esoteric lyrics and gnomic track titles. Perhaps most notably, the release has no artists credited, despite it being listed as a various artists compilation.

The compilation follows Blunt’s appearance on a number of tracks on A$AP Rocky’s most recent album Testing. Last year, Blunt released the free album Hotep under his Blue Iverson alias, also via World Music Group.

Muggy Vol. 1 is available to stream and for free download now. Check out the cover art and tracklist below.

01. ‘nba’
02. ‘garbaggio’
03. ‘moët lean’
04. ‘cloudhopper’
05. ‘dum draco’
06. ‘spiritual solution’
07. ‘london scene’
08. ‘muggy’
09. ‘duo wave’

Read next: How Happa transformed Lewis’s cult oddity L’Amour into a freeform ambient rap mixtape



Share Tweet