Featuring Gou’s first-ever track.

Peggy Gou is the latest artist to feature as part of the DJ-Kicks compilation series.

The mix charts the Korean producer and DJ’s musical journey through her formative years and features tracks from her biggest influences, including Aphex Twin and Andrew Weatherall. Three exclusive tracks are also included in the mix: ‘Pert’ from Milanese duo Hiver, ‘Cassette Jam 1993’ from house stalwart I:Cube and ‘Hungboo’, the first track Gou ever made.

In a statement regarding the compilation’s striking cover art, Gou explains: “I had the concept of this cover in my mind for a long time – as the first Korean woman to contribute to the DJ-Kicks series I wanted to do something from my heritage, so I chose the tiger, which is very important in Korean traditions and a metaphor for my personality,”

“As it is not humane to shoot with a real tiger, I and the photographer Jonas Lindstroem used a library image to make a composite. The tiger ‘disappears’ when you turn to the inside-cover photo, to highlight that these beautiful animals are already extinct in my home country and in danger of disappearing from our world entirely”.

DJ-Kicks: Peggy Gou arrives on June 28 and is available to pre-order now. Check out the cover art and tracklist below.

Peggy Gou



01. Spacetime Continuum – ‘Fluresence’
02. Peggy Gou – ‘Hungboo (DJ-Kicks)’ **
03. Pearson Sound – ‘Earwig’
04. Pegasus – ‘Perseguido Por El Rayo’
05. Sly and Lovechild – ‘The World According To Sly and Lovechild (Andrew Weatherall Soul Of Europe Mix)’
06. Dorisburg – ‘Rytm804’
07. Hiver – ‘Pert’ **
08. Kyle Hall – ‘Flemmenup’
09. DMX Krew – ‘EPR Phenomena’
10. JRMS – ‘3’
11. Shades of Rhythm – ‘Exorcist’
12. Kode 9 – ‘Magnetic City’
13. The System – ‘Vampirella’
14. Black Merlin – ‘Kundu’
15. Aphex Twin – ‘Vordhosbn’
16. R-Tyme – ‘Illusion (Mayday Remix)’
17. Psyche – ‘Crackdown’
18. Deniro – ‘Epirus’
19. I:Cube – ‘Cassette Jam 1993’ **

Vinyl LP:

A1. Peggy Gou – ‘Hungboo (DJ-Kicks)’ **
A2. The System – ‘Vampirella’
A3. Pegasus – ‘Perseguido Por El Rayo’
B1. I:Cube – ‘Cassette Jam 1993’ **
B2. Sly And Lovechild – ‘The World According To Sly & Lovechild (Andrew Weatherall Soul Of Europe Mix)’
C1. Deniro – ‘Epirus’
C2. Psyche – ‘Crackdown’
D1. Hiver – ‘Pert’ **
D2. Aphex Twin – ‘Vordhosbn’

** = Exclusive

Read next: 7 must-hear mixes from March 2019

Latest Stories


Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp