Photo by: Shamil Tanna

A reimagining of the seminal 1983 ambient masterpiece.

In celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing, ambient architect Brian Eno will release a remastered version of his album Apollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks alongside a new album of original compositions.

For All Mankind takes its name from the 1983 documentary by Al Reinert, for which the original Apollo album was intended to accompany. Check out the stunning visuals for a new track, ‘Like I Was A Spectator’, now.

The new album features 11 new instrumental compositions, and sees Eno working alongside both his brother Roger and Daniel Lanois for the first time since the recording of Apollo.

Apollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks – Extended Edition, which includes both the remastered edition of Apollo and For All Mankind, arrives on July 19 and will be available digitally, on CD and vinyl.

Pre-order the release here, and check out the cover art and tracklists for both albums below.


Disc 1 – Apollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks – Remastered
01. ‘Under Stars’
02. ‘The Secret Place’
03. ‘Matta’
04. ‘Signals’
05. ‘An Ending (Ascent)’
06. ‘Under Stars II’
07. ‘Drift’
08. ‘Silver Morning’
09. ‘Deep Blue Day’
10. ‘Weightless’
11. ‘Always Returning’
12. ‘Stars’

Disc 2 – For All Mankind
01. ‘The End Of A Thin Cord’
02. ‘Capsule’
03. ‘At The Foot Of A Ladder’
04. ‘Waking Up’
05. ‘Clear Desert Night’
06. ‘Over The Canaries’
07. ‘Last Step From The Surface’
08. ‘Fine-grained’
09. ‘Under The Moon’
10. ‘Strange Quiet’
11. ‘Like I Was A Spectator’

Read next: Ambient music at 40 – Lawrence English examines the future of a drifting genre



Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp