More Japanese ambient and environmental music from Spencer Doran and Maxwell August Croy.

Empire Of Signs, the Light In The Attic Records sub-label headed up by Visible Cloaks’ Spencer Doran and Maxwell August Croy, will release records from Inoyama Land and Masahiro Sugaya, both of which were featured on Light In The Attic’s Japanese ambient, environmental music and new age compilation Kankyō Ongaku.

Inoyama Land’s Commissions: 1977-2000, collects the work of musicians Makoto Inoue and Yasushi Yamashita as they entered the world of environmental music following the release of their Haruomi Hosono-produced 1983 release Danzindan-Pojidon. During this time they worked with figures like Hiroshi Yoshimura, with whom they developed sound design for the International Stadium in Yokohama.

Horizon, Volume 1 features some of the scores created by Masahiro Sugaya for the experimental Tokyo theatre group Pappa Tarahumura. Sugaya, while little-known in the west, is an avant-garde veteran who worked within a group of musicians including Midori Takada, Hiroshi Yoshimura, Satsuki Shibano and Yoshio Ojima.

Both albums appear for the first time digitally and vinyl LP and are accompanied with liner notes in English and Japanese from Makoto Inoue, Yasushi Yamashita, Masahiro Sugaya, Spencer Doran and Maxwell August Croy.

Commissions: 1977-2000 and Horizon, Volume 1 arrive via Empire Of Signs on September 20 and October 11 respectively. Check out the album artwork and tracklists for both albums below.

Commissions: 1977-2000 tracklist:

01. ‘Hair Air’
02. ‘Cycle’
03. ‘Soushiyou To Shiteiru’
04. ‘Garasudama’
05. ‘Aa Egypto’
06. ‘Skyfish’
07. ‘Bananatron’
08. ‘Fairy Tale’
09. ‘Morn’
10. ‘Kodama’
11. ‘Ougon No Sara’
12. ‘Candy Floss’
13. ‘Watashikara Ubawanaide’
14. ‘Anatano Yushoku No Tameni’
15. ‘Candy (alt.)’
16. ‘Sekai No Owari’

Horizon, Volume 1 tracklist:

01. ‘Horizon (Intro)’
02. ‘Future Green’
03. ‘Afternoon of the Appearing Fish’
04. ‘Grain of Sand by the Sea’
05. ‘Straight Line Floating in the Sky’
06. ‘Wind Conversation’
07. ‘Until the End of the World’
08. ‘Horizon (Outro)’

Read next: Another Green World – How Japanese ambient music found a new audience

Latest Stories


Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp