Photo by: Press

Listen to ‘Sunk In Motion, a new track featuring Dis Fig, now.

Perera Elsewhere, aka Berlin-based ‘doom-folk’ artist Sasha Perera, is back with a new EP.

Thrill sees Perera reflecting on the origins of her name and artistic moniker. “The cover photograph was taken in London when I was about 7 yrs old. Sasha Ravindranathan was my name. I had my father’s 14-letter long Tamil surname until I was 22 years old”, explains the artist.

“12 years after my parents split, I took on my mum’s surname Perera, a Portuguese colonial name common amongst the Sinhala majority in Sri Lanka, and one that happens to be more palatable and less intimidating for those underexposed the generic idea of ‘western’ culture”, she continues. “Growing up with that long name shaped me and my identity. Misplaced and displaced, this is Perera Elsewhere in the making.”

The EP marks Perera’s first release since her album All Of This, which was released back in 2017 by Friends Of Friends.

Thrill is out now. Check out the cover art and tracklist below.


01. ‘Yeah Yeah’
02. ‘Sunk In Motion’ [feat. Dis Fig]
03. ‘Gimme’
04. ‘Wait N See’
05. ‘Carl Maria von Weber’

Listen next: FACT mix 675 – Perera Elsewhere

Latest Stories


Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp