Reissue label The Numero Group have pulled some dusty treats out of the bag in the last six months, including surveys of forgotten 1970s metal outfit Medusa and Prince cohorts The Lewis Connection

The next recipient of the Numero Group treatment will be Texan soul label Dynamic. Overseen by San Antonio’s Abe Epstein – who had a hand in at least five other labels at the time – Dynamic ran for a little under three years in the mid 1960s, and put out in excess of 20 singles over its lifetime. Artists featured on the label include The Tonettes, Don & The Doves, Willie Cooper & The Webs, and Little Jr. Jesse & The Tear Drops. The closest the label came to a hit was 1966’s ‘No Time For You’, performed by four-piece Commands.

Eccentric Soul: The Dynamic Label is the latest in The Numero Group’s Eccentric Soul series, and will collect 21 tracks from Dynamic’s roster on 2xCD. All the acts listed above appear, with other contributors including Doc & Sal and Bobby Blackmon & The Soul Express  A vinyl edition will also be available, supplemented by seven further tracks.

On a similar tip, The Numero Group will also put out a 3xLP assessment of Texan soul act Mickey & The Soul Generation, previously collected on DJ Shadow’s Cali-Tex label in 2004; Shadow, incidentally, once described them as his “favourite funk band”. Iron Leg: The Complete Mickey & the Soul Generation will feature detailed liner notes, previously unseen photos, live recordings, and an unheard track, ‘Listen (To The Cry Of The People)’.

Eccentric Soul: The Dynamic Label will drop on March 19. Iron Leg: The Complete Mickey & the Soul Generation will follow on May 2.

CD Tracklisting:
01. Commands – Hey Its Love
02. Little Jr. Jesse & The Tear Drops – Give Your Love To Me
03. Tonettes – I Gotta Know
04. Doc & Sal – Can’t Get You Offa My Mind
05. Commands – I’ve Got Love For My Baby
06. Willie Cooper & The Webs – You Don’t Love Nobod
07. Little Jr. Jesse & The Tear Drops – Ain’t No Big Thin
08. Commands – No Time For You
09. Webs – Little Girl Blue
10. Tonettes – My Heart Can Feel The Pain
11. Doc & Sal – Cry & Wonder Why
12. Commands – Don’t Be Afraid To Love Me
13. Willie Cooper & The Webs – I Can’t Take No More
14. Don & The Doves – Togethe
15. Webs – Don’t Ever Hurt Me
16. Commands – Must Be Alright
17. Bobby Blackmon & The Soul Express – She’s Gotta Have Soul
18. Doc & Sal – Laughing to Keep From Crying
19. Webs – Try Loving Me
20. Commands – Too Late To Cry
21. Doc & Sal – My Dream

(vinyl only)
22. Little Jr. Jesse & The Tear Drops – If You Don’t Love Me
23. Webs – Can’t Let You Go
24. Commands – A Way To Love Me
25. Little Jr. Jesse & The Tear Drops – It Keeps Rainin’
26. Don & The Doves – I Need You
27.Bobby Blackmon & The Soul Express – You’ll Find Another
28. Commands – Around The Go-Go

Latest Stories

Latest Stories

Share Tweet