Andy Stott announces new album, Luxury Problems

Modern Love regular Andy Stott has announced another LP of heady, narcotised house music.  

Stott’s Passed Me By/We Stay Together diptych was one of 2011’s most impressive musical statements. Compared to, say, 2006’s career-making Merciless, the records represented a real personal overhaul – Stott had never sounded as slow or as deep, and plenty of contemporaries have spent the intervening year trying to match his muggy sonics. Following hints from the label, full details of the album have now emerged.

Luxury Problems, recorded over the last year, sees Stott switching up his methodology. Five of  Luxury Problems eight tracks feature live vocals from Alison Skidmore, the first time Stott has incorporated specially recorded vocal material into his work (Skidmore, interestingly enough, was Stott’s childhood piano teacher). Those human touches make for a substantially different listen to Stott’s last two records, pulling focus from his sludgy low-end undercurrents.

The album was mastered and cut by Matt Colton at Air Studios, and will arrive as a gatefold 2xLP, and deluxe 6-panel Digifile CD.  On the evidence of the music we’ve heard, Stott’s self-styled brand of “knackered house” is far from sounding tired.

Luxury Problems is due on October 29.

1. Numb
2. Lost and Found
3. Sleepless
4. Hatch the plan
5. Expecting
6. Luxury problems
7. Up the box
8. Leaving



Share Tweet