Cult '80s collective Death Comet Crew detail their first official album forthcoming on Diagonal

The reformed electro originals prepare their debut LP.

Powell’s Diagonal imprint has spilled the beans on the forthcoming album from ’80s New York collective Death Comet Crew, the rap/electro project featuring Stuart Argabright and Michael Diekmann of Ike Yard, Shinichi Shimokawa of Black Rain, Nick Taylor of Gray and the late Rammellzee/

First teased back in July, the record is DCC’s first official album and comprises previously unreleased material recorded since the group’s reformation in 2003. Named Ghost Among The Crew in reference to the passing of MC/graffiti artist Rammellzee in 2010, the album features guest contributions from disco singer Nomi Ruiz, known for her work with Hercules & Love Affair, Rammellzee associate Rapscallion and NYC singer and guitarist Carolyn ‘Honeychild’ Coleman.

Though founded on the group’s roots in hip-hop and electro, the eight-track double LP also touches on “soul, jazz fusion, punk and industrial music”, according to the label. See the tracklist and artwork below.

Out mid-December Ghost Among The Crew is the first LP from Powell’s Diagonal imprint and follows a strong run of releases this year from Russell Haswell, Prostitutes and Shit And Shine. Cop Powell’s incredible FACT mix if you haven’t already. [via JunoPlus]

Hear the title track from Death Comet Crew’s 1985 EP At The Marble Bar:


A1 Me Czar Of The Magyars
A2 Deep Space Woman
B1 Drag Racing
B2 Moons On Titan’s Seas
C1 Let The Clubs Ring
C2 One On Ones
D1 Run Map
D2 Ignition Spark

Death Comet Crew



Share Tweet