SD Laika announces <em>That's Harakari</em> LP for Tri Angle

Milwaukee-based producer Peter Runge prepares an album of damaged dance tracks.

Sd Laika emerged in 2012 on Lost Codes with a “sly, tweaky, boggle-brained” set of off-kilter grime. That’s all we heard from the producer until last month’s brutally textured Idiot Thug mix, which came with a promise of a debut on the always-reliable Tri Angle Records.

That album, That’s Harakari, is comprised of material from 2011 and 2012, songs the producer had “convinced himself would never see the light of day.” Like what Logos’ Cold Mission did for grime, That’s Harakari processes, damages, and transmits electronic music as wholly new forms.

Stream ‘Meshes’ below, which press materials accurately describe as sounding “like a UK funky track having had the funk brutally strangled out of it.” The album will be available on vinyl, CD and digitally worldwide on April 28; the cover art and tracklist follow.

01. Peace
02. Great God Pan
03. Gutter Vibrations
04. I Don’t
05. Meshes
06. Remote Heaven
07. You Were Wrong
08. Don’t Know
09. Peaking
10. It’s Ritual
11. Percressing



Share Tweet