Following last month’s gorgeous ‘Words I Don’t Remember‘, Tom Krell has finally revealed his third album.

It’s entitled What is This Heart? and like its predecessor, 2012’s Total Loss, is again poised for release on the Weird World/Domino imprint. Krell seems to have absorbed a new hand of influences since his quirky, noisy beginnings, and What is This Heart? is billed as an “ambitious 21st century pop album that takes influence from artists as varied as Prince, Lou Reed, Burial and Tracy Chapman.”

We can hardly say any different – new album track ‘Repeat Pleasure’ (which you can hear below) is yet another example of Krell’s evolving songcraft, and is incredibly hard to pigeonhole. It’s got a few modern tropes, certainly, but there’s an aura of classic pop that drips from each note.

What is This Heart? will be released on Weird World on June 23.


01 2 Years On (Shame Dream)
02 What You Wanted
03 Face Again
04 See You Fall
05 Repeat Pleasure
06 Words I Don’t Remember
07 Pour Cyril
08 Precious Love
09 Childhood Faith In Love (Everything Must Change, Everything Must Stay The Same)
10 A Power
11 Very Best Friend
12 House Inside (Future Is Older Than The Past)



Share Tweet