Illum Sphere press shot (credit Jimmy Mould)

Manchester producer/DJ Illum Sphere will mix Fabriclive 78.

Signed to Ninja Tune, where he released his debut album Ghosts of Then And NowIllum Sphere has been a regular fixture at Fabric in recent years, with the clubnight he co-founded, Hoya:Hoya, regularly running nights there.

Speaking about Hoya:Hoya’s regular spot in Fabric’s Room 2, Illum Sphere says “Room Two is a perfect balance; our visual artist Emmanuel uses the stage solely for his visuals, we play music from the booth and it just seems to work so well. You also have some people looking at whoever’s playing and some at the visuals, so the focus is less so on the DJ and more spread.”

The material on his Fabric mix ranges from the 1970s to the modern day, and spans various tempos. “I decided to stick to more electronic based music, from new wave, dub, techno, acid, etc.”,  Illum explains.

He’ll be launching the mix CD at Fabric on November 7, with Hoya:Hoya teammates Krystal Klear, Eclair Fifi, Jonny Dub and Jon K, plus MC Chunky and Detroit producer JTC (a.k.a. Dabrye).

Stream Illum Sphere’s 2013 FACT mix below.

01 E.M.A.K. – Sein Und Schein [Originalton West]
02 Soul Syndicate – Now You’re Gone (Version) [Wackie’s]
03 Tapes – Dungeness [Astro:Dynamics]
04 Powell – Fizz [Liberation Technologies]
05 Carl Meeks – Danger (Version) [Dub Store]
06 (Interlude) E.M.A.K. – Sein Und Schein [Originalton West]
07 Musumeci – Harry Batasuna [Mannequin]
08 Streetwalker – Ooze [Diagonal]
09 Grauzone – Film 2 (33 RPM) [[PIAS] Recordings]
10 Das Ding – H.S.T.A. [Minimal Wave]
11 NGLY – Speechless Tape [Long Island Electrical Systems]
12 Osborne – Bout Ready To Jak (TNT’s Acid Mix) [Spectral Sound]
13 Charles Manier – Who Raised These People [Nation]
14 Legowelt – On The Tiger Train [Clone Jack For Daze Series]
15 Kassem Mosse – B3 (Workshop 19) [Workshop]
16 Demdike Stare – Repository Of Light [Modern Love]
17 James T. Cotton – Oochie Coo [Spectral Sound]
18 E-Dancer – Pump The Move (Kenny Larkin Mix) [KMS]
19 2AM/FM – Desolate Cities [M>O>S Recordings]
20 Propaganda – Thought Part 1 [ZTT]
21 Actress – Gershwin [Nonplus]
22 Illum Sphere – Bullet [Ninja Tune]
23 Vazz – Cast Reflections [Forced Nostalgia]
24 Nine Circles – What’s There Left [Genetic]



Share Tweet