Soul Jazz prep new disco compilation featuring Retta Young, John Morales and more

The compilation was assembled to accompany the UK label’s new book of disco flyers.

Last week Soul Jazz announced they had compiled thousands of classic disco sleeves in a new hardcover bookDisco: An Encyclopedic Guide To The Cover Art Of Disco Records features over 2000 album covers and 700 12″ sleeves.

Today the label announced the release of a double-CD compilation to accompany the new book. Entitled A Fine Selection of Independent Disco, Modern Soul and Boogie 1978-82 , the compilation is made up of 19 tracks from artists such as John Morales, Retta Young and John Gibbs and the US Steel Orchestra.

The music was compiled by Disco Patrick, who (alongside Patrick Vogt) also put together the book of flyers. The compilation will be available on on double-CD and digital formats, as well as two separate volumes of double-vinyl (with free download code).

A Fine Selection of Independent Disco, Modern Soul and Boogie 1978-82 will be released via Soul Jazz on November 17.

For an introduction to the work of John Morales, check out our recent feature on the remix specialist’s lesser-known cuts.


1. The Fantastic Aleems featuring Calebur – Hooked On Your Love (John Morales Mix)
2. Superfunk – Superfunk
3. Jessie G – That’s Hot
4. Jupiter Beyond – The River Drive
5. The Sunburst Band – The Easton Assassin
6. John Gibbs and The U.S. Steel Orchestra – Trinidad (Special Disco Mix)
7. Sparkle – Disco Madness
8. Chain Reaction – Sweet Lady (Dance With Me)
9. Wayne Ford – Dance To The Beat Freakout
10. Sympho-State – You Know What I Like
11. The Fantastic Aleems featuring Corky Hodges – Movin’ To The Beat
12. Something Extra – Sexy Lady
13. Stwange Poweple – Get Up (Let’s Rock)
14. Chemistry – Skateboard
15. Cirt Gill and The Jam-A-Ditty Band – Turn This Disco Out
16. Sugar Bear Johnson – When Your Jones Come Down
17. Retta Young – My Man Is On His Way
18. The Imperials – Fast Freddie The Roller Disco King
19. Cordial – Wave



Share Tweet