1080p and Olde English Spelling Bee have made an epic multimedia compilation featuring Torn Hawk, Moon B and James Ferraro

Two of the finest purveyors of weird shit from the underground have teamed up.

We’re getting stuck into this eye-popping multimedia mixtape curated by Olde English Spelling Bee’s Todd Ledford and 1080p’s Richard MacFarlane, featuring exclusive material from the likes of James Ferraro, Torn Hawk and Bryce Hackford – plus a few “mystery” artists – all wrapped up in some amazing visual art.

Starting Gate uses the NewHive platform to host its 22 tracks across separate pages (click the arrows to change track) and kicks off with a tracklist written in an original typeface designed by Ledford himself.

Inside you’ll find a “rock” song by James Ferraro as The Draculas (made during his sessions for 2010’s Night Dolls With Hair Spray on OESB), a premiere from Friendly Chemist’s forthcoming 1080p album Touch Of Jupiter, a new track from Giant Claw (Keith Kawaii of the incredible Orange Milk Records) and tons more – see the detailed tracklist below and dive in.

The curators also hint that “there may be some secret projects and cloaked identities afoot” – BumGarden, anyone? The visuals were curated by Ledford with Katie Raffa of Personal Injury Records, and you can check out all those contributors in the tracklist below.

For more on 1080p, one of our favourite labels of last year, catch up with five of their best records so far.


1) Katapulto “This Is The Future”
track PREMIERE from upcoming album “Powerflex” 2015
Art by Joe Evans

2) MCFERRDOG “Timeless”
track PREMIERE from 1080p album “Lawd Forgive Me” released Jan 2015

Art by Terrell Davis

3) Torn Hawk “Walken And Wood”
PREMIERE – EXCLUSIVE to NewHive – recorded 2014

Art by Pill Pop

4) Moon B “Lifeworld – Clip 7”
track PREMIERE from 1080p album “Lifeworld” released Jan 2015
Art by “Mrs. Sonny Crockett”

5) Limited “Union Square Poet” – from “Empire Parasite MP3’s” e.p. released Jan. 2015
Art by Katie Raffa

6) Touch Systems “Total Commitment”
track PREMIERE from upcoming album “Total Commitment” 2015
Art by Keith Rankin

7) Hurrikane Ike “Jeepers”
track EXCLUSIVE to NewHive
Art by Hurrikane Ike

8) Delia Gonzalez “Hidden Song”
track EXCLUSIVE/PREMIERE – recorded Winter 2014 in Brooklyn, NY
Art by J. Reed

9) Alice Cohen “Looking Glass”
track PREMIERE from upcoming 2015 album “Into The Grey Salons” on OESB
Art by OESB

10) The Great Void “Shift Age”
from upcoming 2015 album “Shift Age” on OESB
Art by Johnny Woods

11) Scientific Dreamz Of U “Ascension Protocol {Emancipation in the Grid}”
track PREMIERE from upcoming 1080p album “The Dreamcode”
Art by Joslyn Crocco

12) Casimer & Casimir “The Somnambulant Runner”
track PREMIERE – recorded 2015
Art by Sam Rolfes

13) Constellation Botsu “Botsu 385/384/387/389”
track EXCLUSIVE/PREMIERE – recorded 2014 in Japan
Art by Oomunetaka

14) James Ferraro (as The Draculas) “Lies”
EXCLUSIVE/PREMIERE – unreleased track from 2010’s “Night Dolls With Hair Spray” sessions
Art by Joslyn Crocco

15) Mirage “Children Games”
track PREMIERE – from 2014 OESB album “Blood For The Return”
Art by OESB

16) Mechanick Preachers “IMAGES.JPG”
track EXCLUSIVE/PREMIERE – recorded 2010
Art by B O’Grady

17) Giant Claw “Starship Silk”
PREMIERE – new/unreleased Giant Claw track
Art by Keith Rankin

18) BumGarden “Go Home Now (ft. Pocono Princess)”
track EXCLUSIVE/PREMIERE – recorded Dec. 2014
Art by Alison Holt

19) Friendly Chemist “March of the Bog Lily (Clapapella)”
track PREMIERE from upcoming 1080p album “Touch Of Jupiter”
Art by Fucktoy Forever

20) Cologne “The Charleston”
track PREMIERE – from December 2014 album “Vanilla Abstract”
Art by Danny Lane

21) Wywy Brix & Xiao Feng “Escitalo”
track PREMIERE – from upcoming 1080p album
Art by Katie Raffa

22) Bryce Hackford “Dreams”
track PREMIERE – recorded Winter 2014
Art by Hurrikane Ike



Share Tweet