Becoming Real finally bursts out of the chrysalis.

After heralding his return with a cassette release at the start of the year, Toby Ridler has announced his very long-awaited debut album on Transgressive.

Pure Apparition arrives two years after the Glasgow-based producer lost his almost-completed first attempt in a disastrous hard drive crash, and finds him bending his early grime influences into exotic new shapes while “venturing deeper into techno-orientated territory”, the label notes.

The first track to appear off the album is ‘Tibetan Moves’, which bumps along on scuffed hollow drums while eerie didgeridoo-like squelches ricochet off cartoon FX – it’s enjoyably off-kilter, so check it out below. The whole thing was mastered by the mighty Rashad Becker.

The album is pre-orderable now with ‘Tibetan Moves’ ready to download immediately – see the tracklist and rather nice artwork below.

Pure Apparition album artwork


01. Bleach
02. Sps 7
03. D.A.R.E.
04. Only In Real
05. Tokyo
06. Comet’s Pull
07. Tibetan Moves
08. The Deal Set Adrift
09. Rude
10. Kick Flip
11. Pure Apparition
12. Main Station Cables

Latest Stories


Share Tweet