Photography: Silvie Weber

The six-track LP is Halo’s first release since 2017’s Dust.

Laurel Halo is releasing a six-track mini-album on Paris label Latency. Titled Raw Silk Uncut Wood, it features collaborations with recent RVNG signing Oliver Coates and percussionist Eli Keszler.

According to Latency, the album is inspired by Halo’s film score work with Dutch design studio Metahaven on a documentary called Possessed and Ursula Le Guin’s translation of the Tao Te Ching, a key text of Taoism.

Raw Silk Uncut Wood follows last year’s Dust album for Hyperdub, which was one of FACT’s favorite albums of 2017. The artwork is ‘Prince S’, a 2017 painting by Jill Mulleady and it’s released on vinyl and digital formats on July 13.

Listen to the title track below.


01. ‘Raw Silk Uncut Wood’
02. ‘Mercury’
03. ‘Quietude’
04. ‘The Sick Mind’
05. ‘Supine’
06. ‘Nahbarkeit’

Read next: Laurel Halo on the collaborations and chemistry of new album Dust



Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp