Photo by: Press

Watch footage of the artist recording with with members of the gagaku ensemble Tokyo Gakuso now.

Tim Hecker will return to Kranky for Anoyo, a companion LP to last year’s Konoyo, an album inspired by a form of Japanese classical music performed at the Imperial Court, gagaku.

The project was drawn from the same recording sessions as Hecker’s previous album, which saw the artist collaborating with members of the gagaku ensemble Tokyo Gakuso. Check out footage of the ambient composer recording in a temple on the outskirts of Tokyo.

Anoyo arrives on May 10 via Kranky and is available to preorder now. Stream the opening track and check out the cover art and tracklist below.

Art by: Tobias Spichtig



01. ‘That world’
02. ‘Is but a simulated blur’
03. ‘Step away from Konoyo’
04. ‘Into the void’
05. ‘Not alone’
06. ‘You never were’

Read next: The best ambient of 2018



Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp