The Roots have shared the tracklist for their new album with bespectacled British rock star Elvis Costello.

The veteran hip hop crew’s drummer Questlove posted a snap of the 15-song tracklist to his Instagram account with the caption, “Guess What Just Got Mastered Kids? The New #WiseUpGhost by Elvis Costello & The Roots. Gotta say this sounds incredible!” [via Exclaim]

As talk show host Jimmy Fallon’s house band, The Roots have partaken in some unexpected collaborations in recent years, but teaming up with Costello was “love at first sight”, according to Questlove. Originally intended as an EP, Wise Up Ghost was expanded into a full album after their secret recording sessions produced 20 tracks, described by the drummer as “a moody, brooding affair, cathartic rhythms and dissonant lullabies.”

The Roots recently performed Daft Punk’s ‘Get Lucky’ in their “Black Simon and Garfunkel” guise – watch it here.

Wise Up Ghost will be released on 17 September.

Here’s the tracklist, with Questlove’s Instagram below:

01 Walk Us Uptown
02 Sugar
03 Refuse to be Saved
04 Wake Me Up
05 Tripwire
06 Stick Out Your Tongue
07 Come the Meantimes
08 Grenade
09 Cinco Minutos Con Vos
10 Viceroy’s Row
11 Wise Up Ghost
12 If I Could Believe
13 Can You Hear Me
14 My New Haunt
15 Puppet



Share Tweet