Shellac details <em>Dude Incredible</em>, first new album since 2007

Steve Albini and company will return in September.

Albini teased the album last year but was cagey about a release date: “You know, that sort of stuff doesn’t really mean anything anymore… The people who buy records are not lining up at the record store on the day of release.”

Despite that, Shellac’s sixth album, Dude Incredible (no comma), will be released by Touch & Go Records on September 16. It was recorded at Albini’s Electrical Audio studios and mastered completely in analog by Steve Rooke at Abbey Road.

The tracklist is below, but don’t expect much more. Recycling some boilerplate from the 2007 release of Excellent Italian Greyhound, the band promises “no formal promotion… no advertisements, no press or radio promotion, no e-promotion, no promotional or review copies, no promotional gimmick items, and otherwise no free lunch.” Earlier this year, Albini praised the Internet Age music industry.

01. Dude Incredible
02. Compliant
03. You Came In Me
04. Riding Bikes
05. All The Surveyors
06. The People’s Microphone
07. Gary
08. Mayor/Surveyor
09. Surveyor



Share Tweet