Photo by: Nacho G Riaza

A harder-edged sound designed for sweaty clubs.

DJ Lag has debuted on Diplo’s Good Enuff imprint with Uhuru, a new EP named after a tiny club in the producer’s township of Clermont.

The new project showcases a version of gqom the producer calls ‘uThayela’, which translates literally as “corrugated iron” and is used to describe “a rougher sound with a harder bassline that it is made for clubs.”

Last month it was revealed that the gqom pioneer co-produced a track on Beyoncé’s Lion King soundtrack. The producer also teamed up with Hyperdub affiliate Okzharp earlier this year for a collaborative EP, Steam Rooms.

Uhuru is out now. Check out the cover art and tracklist below.


01. ‘Portland’
02. ‘Offi Bee’
03. ‘Dimoni’
04. ‘Uhuru Dis’ (feat. Moonchild Sanelly)
05. ‘Rich Drop’
06. ‘Amanikiniki’ (w/ Unticipated Soundz)

Read next: 7 must-hear mixes from July 2019

Latest Stories


Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp