Photo by: Marie Staggat

The 12-track album is inspired by Brazilian music and culture.

Deep house legend Fred P is releasing his first full-length Black Jazz Consortium album since 2013 on his own Perpetual Sound label next month.

Evolution of Light is a “direct response” to New York City native Fred Peterkin’s first album as Black Jazz Consortium, RE:Actions Of Light, released over a decade ago. It’s inspired by the music and culture of Brazil, and includes collaborations with Brazilian musicians on several tracks.

“There has been a lot of growth since my first album,” Peterkin says. “I wanted to answer with a follow up that is honest, and along the way Brazil became a focus, so here we are.”

Evolution of Light is released on November 8 on 3LP vinyl and digital formats. Check the tracklist and artwork below, and pre-order it at Bandcamp. Revisit Fred P’s 2015 FACT mix here.


01. ‘More Blessings’ (Feat. Leonardo Peretti Reibnitz & Trovao Rocha)
02. ‘Another Path’ (Feat. Trovao Rocham, Leonardo Peretti & Leo Vieira)
03. ‘Sacred Sun’ (Feat. Bruna Elisabetsky)
04. ‘A Century Of Love’
05. ‘Soul People For Life’ (Feat. Slikk Tim & Gal Aner)
06. ‘Salvador’ (Feat. Slikk Tim & Bruno Elisabetsky)
07. ‘Brisbane’ (Feat. Slikk Tim)
08. ‘Energies Collide’ (Feat. Ceri B) 05:18
09. ‘Focus’ (Feat. Reno Ka)
10. ‘Love Alliance’ (Feat. Gary Gritness)
11. ‘Paradise Essential’ (Feat. Slikk Tim)
12. ‘Resonate’ (Feat. Christina Wheeler)

Read next: Deep Inside – September 2019’s must-hear house and techno

Latest Stories


Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp