Mixes I by I 03.04.17

FACT mix 595: Hipsters Don’t Dance

Hipsters Don’t Dance’s Kazabon and Hootie Who bring their “World Carnival” sound to FACT.

If you’ve had your wits about you in and around London for the last few years, you’ve no doubt stumbled across genre-traversing duo Hipsters Don’t Dance, aka Kazabon and Hootie Who.

The two DJs dig deep into their respective Trinidadian and Nigerian heritages and explore what they refer to as their World Carnival sound, blending dancehall, soca, Afropop, US rap and more.

It’s a sound that lives and breathes in the basements and around the vivid street parties of London and beyond and if you’ve been addicted to the output of Manchester’s Swing Ting or New York City’s Mixpak recently, Hipsters Don’t Dance should be the next logical step.

For their debut FACT mix, Kazabon and Hootie wedge together a breathtaking selection, repping plenty of familiar names from Murlo, Florentino, Jubilee and Equinoxx’s Gavsborg to Shystie, Cardi B, Fat Joe and more.

The sheer breadth of the duo’s knowledge is inspiring and they leave nothing to chance. This is party music leveled up a few notches: you can dance, but this ain’t pop music just yet. Give it a year or two.

You can tune into Hipsters Don’t Dance’s exceptional Radar Radio show every month here.


T-Pain – ‘Fire’ (Murlo Refix)
Hamza – ‘Eldorado’ (ft. Ramriddlz)
Cardi B – ‘Back It Up’ (ft. Konshens & Hoodcelebrityy)
MAIELI – ‘It’s Over Bae’ (Florentino Remix)
Equiknoxx Music – ‘Fly Away’ (ft. Alozade & Gavsborg)
Lava Dome – ‘Satla Riddim’
Shenseea – ‘Reverse’
Traxmatik – ‘Bad Girl Spanish Refix’ (ft. Eevee)
Moleskin – ‘Mistake to Dance’
Cho – ‘Popalik’
Skales – ‘Temper’ (Remix) (ft Burna Boy)
Ayo Jay – ‘The Vibe’
Jubilee – ‘Opa-­locka’
Chi Ching Ching – ‘Rock Di World’
Fat Joe – ‘Lean Back (Architect on the Drums)’
Reekado Banks – ‘Problem’
Cass STP – ‘Go Down’ (ft. Mitch & Morgan)
Epic Zues B – ‘OneShelf’ (Zues Mix)
DJ Nelson – ‘Original Q’
Orlando Volcano – ‘Ramping Shop 2016’
Slackk – ‘Hundred Flute’
Lady Saw – ‘Loser’ (ft. Ce’cile)
Jubilee – ‘Sawgrass Expressway’
Ricardo Drue + Bunji Garlin – ‘Damage’
Mujava – ‘Source Of Drums’
Gradur – ‘Oblah’ (ft. MHD, Alonzo & Nyda)
DJ Lag – ‘Ice Drop_Mst’
Shystie – ‘Pull It’ (Ill Blu remix)
Babes Wodumo – ‘Wololo’ (ft. Mampintsha)
Gizo – ‘Makofa Aba’ (Instrumental)
Machel Montano & Bunji Garlin – ‘Buss Head’
Wande Coal & DJ Tunez – ‘Iskaba’
Franko – ‘Coller la petite’
Ricky T – ‘Freaky Girl’ (AyoKiff Of Bad Company Remix) (ft. Eempsey)
Destra Garcia – ‘WaistLine Killer’
Billy Ocean – ‘Caribbean Qween’ (MikeQ Remix)



Share Tweet