Weekly Playlist

L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'

via soundcloud.com

Now Playing


  • L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz
  • 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'
  • Blawan
  • 'North'
  • Viva La Void
  • 'Red Rider'
  • Oli XL
  • 'Stress Junkie'
  • E-40
  • 'Boy' (feat. P-Lo)
  • Honnda
  • ‘Maraschino Zap’
  • Carlos Giffoni
  • ‘Vain’s Face’
  • Kawaguchi Masami's New Rock Syndicate
  • 'From Now On'
  • Antemeridian
  • 'Tuesday AM'
  • Aïsha Devi
  • 'Dislocation of the Alpha'
  • Ras G & The Afrikan Space Program
  • 'The Arrival'
  • Jay Prince
  • 'In The Morning'
  • MJ Cole x Kojey Radical
  • 'Soak It Up'
  • Knightstown
  • 'Keep'
  • Will DiMaggio
  • ‘UH UH OH’

Photo by: Cristina Bercovitz

Taken from The Deep, a 12″ release inspired by the afrofuturist mythology of Drexciya.

Sub Pop’s foremost experimental hip hop collectives, Clipping. and Shabazz Palaces, have teamed up for a release inspired by Detroit electro icons Drexciya.

‘Aquacode Databreaks’, which really could be the title of a Neptune’s Lair bonus track, is taken from The Deep, a 12″ release featuring three tracks inspired by the afrofuturist mythology created by James Stinson and Gerald Donald.

According to Stinson and Donald, ‘Drexciya’ was an underwater country founded by the water-breathing, unborn children of pregnant African women thrown overboard while crossing the Atlantic on slave ships.

Clipping.’s track ‘The Deep’, which was commissioned for a This American Life episode in 2017 and from which the 12″ takes its name, follows this same mythology. ‘Aquacode Databreaks’ and a third track, ‘Drownt’, make up the rest of the release, which follows Clipping.’s horrorcore-influenced album There Existed an Addiction to Blood.

‘Aquacode Databreaks’ is out now. The Deep arrives on November 29, on Sub Pop.

Read next: The Rap Round-up – September 2019



Share Tweet