More material from the British pop agitator’s forthcoming fourth album.

With Matangi finally set for release following a protracted war of words with her label Interscope, M.I.A. has now unveiled another new track, ‘Unbreak My Mixtape’. Splicing Blur’s ‘Tender’ with snippets of Carly Simon’s ‘Why’ and Fresh 4’s version of ‘Wishing On A Star’, it’s a rough-edged collage that sees Maya Arulpragasam in a reflective mode.

Matangi is now due to come out on 5 November. Meanwhile, M.I.A. has also had to contend with Roc Nation’s efforts to block a documentary about the making of the album.

Hear ‘Unbreak My Mixtape’:



Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp