Weekly Playlist

L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'

via soundcloud.com

Now Playing


  • L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz
  • 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'
  • Blawan
  • 'North'
  • Viva La Void
  • 'Red Rider'
  • Oli XL
  • 'Stress Junkie'
  • E-40
  • 'Boy' (feat. P-Lo)
  • Honnda
  • ‘Maraschino Zap’
  • Carlos Giffoni
  • ‘Vain’s Face’
  • Kawaguchi Masami's New Rock Syndicate
  • 'From Now On'
  • Antemeridian
  • 'Tuesday AM'
  • Aïsha Devi
  • 'Dislocation of the Alpha'
  • Ras G & The Afrikan Space Program
  • 'The Arrival'
  • Jay Prince
  • 'In The Morning'
  • MJ Cole x Kojey Radical
  • 'Soak It Up'
  • Knightstown
  • 'Keep'
  • Will DiMaggio
  • ‘UH UH OH’

After a seemingly endless recording sabbatical, post-punk titans Public Image Ltd are striding back into the limelight.

Following on from April’s One Drop EP, the band have a new LP on the way, titled THIS IS PiL. The record will be their first since 1992’s That What Is Not. Rolling Stone are hosting new track ‘Deeper Water’, and it’s a fine first salvo.

Lydon offers some insight into the track’s genesis: “It was an improv, done in one take. We made it up as we went. But there is a great deal of thought that goes in before you do that,” Lydon tells Rolling Stone. “It’s about bad influences, bad information, bad leadership. There’s ‘bristled bastards that will lead you to the shore, dash you on the rocks.’ Don’t follow the liars. It’s a very difficult thing for me to trust people”.

‘Deeper Water’ is a surprisingly jangly cut, not a million miles away from Interpol’s widescreen jag. Eighties indie is a big touchstone, but the low-slung bassline and dubby synths keep things interesting. Lydon’s on wobbly, theatrical form, but his voice is still pleasingly elastic even as he enters his autumn years. The nautical lyrics and driving lilt remind us a little of Camberwell Now’s 1983 Meridian EP – never a bad thing. ‘Deeper Water’ is a confident comeback, and one that augurs well for the album proper.

THIS IS PiL is set for a May 28th release date through the band’s pet label, PiL Official. Click here to listen. Alternatively, relive their unexpected Boiler Room set.



Share Tweet