Thom Sonny Green showcases his taste for the more cerebral side of electronic music with album of instrumental compositions.

Alt-J drummer Thom Sonny Green invokes the classic sounds of 90s electronic instrumentals in the latest song from his debut album, High Anxiety, which is scheduled for release on August 19 via his own Sudden Records label.

‘Preach’ is a delicate synth-led piece that brings to mind the work of Boards of Canada. The track follows from previous album extracts ‘Vienna’, ‘Palms’, and ‘Phoenix’ which you can hear below.

High Anxiety was recorded over the course of two years by Green while on the road with Alt-J. Green has cited Clams Casino (with whom he has spent time in the studio), Arca, Deftones and Radiohead as influences on the record. A statement announcing the album said: “unlike the raw physicality of alt-J performances, Thom explores a more cerebral side with this project demonstrating his complete artistry as songwriter, producer, and visual artist.”

Each of the 21 tracks on the album will come with a video created by Nichola Farnan, a Dalston-based artist. The first of these is for ‘Palms’.

Early support for the album has come from Miley Cyrus, who congratulated Green on Instagram.

fuck yessss @thomsonny

A photo posted by Miley Cyrus (@mileycyrus) on

High Anxiety tracklist:
1. Vienna
2. 40 Beers
3. Market
4. System
5. Blew
6. Arizona
7. Oslo
8. Ping
9. Cologne
10. Houston
11. Oakland
12. VVVV
13. Phoenix
14. Large
15. Palms
16. Beach
17. Grounds
18. Preach
19. Christ
20. Meh
21. Neon Blue



Share Tweet