Details of James Blake’s second album have emerged.

The follow-up to his self-titled debut, the new record is entitled Beyond Belief, and will see release through Atlas/A&M in the UK, and Universal in the States, in September 2012.

Blake has spoken recently about how the album, which seems to have been completed well ahead of schedule, would have a “more aggressive” feel than its predecessor, and though we’ve yet to hear it, some of the track titles – ‘I’m Sorry I Lost My Temper’ and ‘Perseus / Naughty Corner’ – do indeed suggest we should prepare to experience a darker side of the singer/producer. Blake reprises his partnership with Justin Vernon of Bon Iver for the album’s title track, but no other guests are named. ‘Digbeth I’ and ‘Digbeth II’ are presumably conceived in the spirit of the last LP’s ‘Lindisfarne’ diptych, and it seems safe to posit that ‘Water and Lack Thereof’ is a sequel of sorts to Blake’s 2009 debut single, ‘Air & Lack Thereof’.

Blake’s management are willing to confirm that the cover art, pictured below, is intended as a humorous update of the blurry self-portrait that adorned the last album. This time the subject of the photograph isn’t Blake, but his dog, Sigmund.

More information when we have it; in the meantime, check the sleeve and tracklist below, and visit the dedicated Beyond Belief microsite here.


1. Digbeth I
2. I’m Sorry I Lost My Temper
3. Needs and Wants (Student Debt)
4. Chipping Norton
5. Perseus / Naughty Corner
6. Haunted Weather
7. Water and Lack Thereof
8. Beyond Belief feat. Bon Iver
9. Digbeth II
10. The Vertical Colour of Sound





Share Tweet