David Bowie announces first album in 10 years; surprise single and video out now

Good morning, and welcome to the biggest story of the day – David Bowie is back.

As The Guardian report, Bowie has announced that his 30th studio recording will see the light of day in March. The Next Day was recorded in New York, with regular associate Tony Visconti on production duty. The record will be his first release since 2003’s Reality, and will arrive on Iso/Columbia. The tracklisting is below.

As if that news wasn’t earth-shaking enough, Bowie has also been good enough to rush-release the first track from the record, ‘Where Are We Now?’. The track is a lilting, elegaic indie number, and sees Bowie pick over his fabled late 1970s stint in Berlin. It also comes with a brilliant video from multimedia artist Tony Oursler, which is exactly what you’d expect but also all kinds of wonderful. You can watch the video here, or enjoy an embed below.

The press release accompanying the announcement reads: “In recent years radio silence has been broken only by endless speculation, rumor and wishful thinking ….a new record…who would have ever thought it, who’d have ever dreamed it! After all David is the kind of artist who writes and performs what he wants when he wants…when he has something to say as opposed to something to sell. Today he definitely has something to say”.

Head over to Bowie’s revamped website to pre-order the album. The singer turns 66 today.

1. The Next Day
2. Dirty Boys
3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
4. Love is Lost
5. Where Are We Now?
6. Valentine’s Day
7. If You Can See Me
8. I’d Rather Be High
9. Boss of Me
10. Dancing Out in Space
11. How Does the Grass Grow?
12. (You Will) Set the World on Fire
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
14. Heat
Bonus tracks:
15. So She
16. I’ll Take You There
17. Plan



Share Tweet