Parisian party crew Concrete are taking the leap into the record label game.

The highly respected Concrete night has had a major impact on the Paris scene over the last 12 months. Based on a boat docked on the Seine’s Port De La Rapée, the night had welcomed some of house music’s most celebrated radicals (Theo Parrish, Ron Morelli) and contemporary institutions (Andres, Joy Orbison), and is spoken of in fairly rhapsodies by those who’ve been.

The newly hatched Concrete Music imprint will kick off with a trilogy of vinyl EPs, held together under the banner term Textures I. The records have been programmed with an emphasis on local producers and friends of the brand, with the first release headlined by squelchy new Detroit dude Jared Wilson and seasoned Dutch deep house producer Awanto 3. Subsequent releases in the series will find space for Deeply Rooted House producer Bleak and Berlin regular Binh, amongst others.

Speaking to Juno Plus, Concrete assistant label manager Souleiman Bouri outlined the imprint’s agenda thus: “We don’t have a special direction and we don’t want to surf on the cliché related to the French scene but we want more to propose a panorama of grooves and textures with some singularity.” Instalment no. 1 drops on 12” on February 11, with the sequels to follow  one-a-week after that.

Textures I – I
A1 Awanto 3 – Sit On This
A2 S3A (Sampling As An Art) – The Ravist
B1 Jared Wilson – You Get Down
B2 Samuel André Madsen – Waterwalking Paris

Textures I – II
A1 Bleak – What We Are Made Of
A2 Dario Zenker – Port De La Dimanche
B1 Abdulla Rashim – Awash River
B2 Behzad & Amarou – Batiment 21

Textures I – III
A1 Cabanne – Zoso
B1 Binh – h.ufer
B2 Priku – Mare Mirare



Share Tweet